Category: Local

Bollwage Wins Re-Election In Elizabeth

ELIZABETH — Mayor Chris Bollwage defeated his Republican challenger Albert P. Martin 17,675 votes to 4,473. City Council members Edward Jackus, Patricia Perkins-Auguste and Frank Cuesta were unopposed in their re-election bids. The Democrats each received more than 16,000 votes.

Democrats Sweep Linden Council Races

LINDEN — Democrats won in all four of Linden’s City Council races. Derek Armstead ran unopposed in the Fourth Ward and received 1,343 votes. In the Sixth Ward, Democrat Robert Sadowski defeated independent Diane Wilverding 493 to 424 votes. In…

Democrats Sweep Rahway Council Races

RAHWAY — Democrats swept Rahway’s six City Council races. Democrat Bobby Akbar defeated Republican Larry Bodine 1,099 to 314 for the First Ward seat. Michael Cox beat Kenneth Lund 1,058 to 470 in the Second Ward. Jerome Scaturo outpolled Bryan…

Dems Sweep Middlesex Freeholder Races

MIDDLESEX COUNTY — Democrats David Crabiel and Millie Scott easily defeated their Republican challengers Lynda Woods Cleary and Daniel S. Kerwin for seats on the Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders. Crabiel received 160,430 votes; Scott 156,145; Cleary 98,011; Kerwin…

Democrats Win In Carteret

CARTERET — Democrats Susan Naples and Randy Krum defeated independent candidates John Nartowicz and Kevin Urban for seats on the Borough Council. The Democrats received 4,730 and 4,720 votes respectively, while the independent challengeres received 1,529 and 1,478 votes. Democrat…

Cammarano, Manley Win In Metuchen

METUCHEN — Democrate Peter Cammarano and Republican Justin Manley won seats on Metuchen’s Borough Council. Cammarano was the top vote getter, with 3,869. Manley finished second with 3.424. Democrat Tim Dacey finished third with 3,336

Sayreville Splits Council Seats

SAYREVILLE — Republican Kenneth P. Kelly Sr. and Democrat Lisa Buchanan Eicher won council seats. Kelly received 7,625 votes and Eicher won 7,456. Democrat Jorge “George” Gonzalez came in third with 7,422 and Republican Ron Green finished fourth with 7,229.

Noble Wins South Amboy Race

SOUTH AMBOY — Democrat Mark Noble defeated Republican David Longenhagen 598-298 to win in South Amboy’s Second Ward. Democrats Russell Stillwagon and John O’Connell were unchallenged in the First and Third wards, respectively.

Turnout Heavy In Historic Election

STATE – The 2008 election is guaranteed to be one for the history books. After the polls close, we’ll find out if America elected the first African-American President or the first female Vice President in the nation’s history. But if…

River Cleanup

River Cleanup—On Saturday, Oct. 11, twenty students from Rahway High School’s Social Action Club joined volunteers from the Boy Scouts of America and the Rahway River Association as they participated in the annual Fall Cleanup of Milton Lake Park in…