Category: Local

Celebrate Sukkot

EDISON – Go to the Jewish Community Center of Middlesex County, 1775 Oak Tree Road, Edison, for “Under a Sukkot Sky”, an intergenerational, community-wide celebration of the holiday of Sukkot, taking place on Thursday, Oct. 8, at 6:30 p.m. sharp.

Learn About Prostate Cancer

SCOTCH PLAINS – If you have been diagnosed with prostate cancer, there are a lot of treatment options to consider. Urologist Brett Opell, MD will provide a prostate cancer update on Monday, Sept. 14 at 5:30 p.m.

Akbar Is Out

RAHWAY—Two weeks after the school board accepted his resignation effective in January, allowing him to exploit credits for time off and unused sick leave, disgraced Councilman Bobby Akbar resigned from the city’s governing body Tuesday.

Sierra Club Nixes 2 Dems

UNION COUNTY—The New Jersey chapter of the Sierra Club endorsed four Union County lawmakers for the Assembly, but the organization denied re-election support to two prominent Democratic incumbents.

Vas Pleads Not Guilty To State Charges

FREEHOLD – Assemblyman Joseph Vas appeared in Superior Court in Freehold Tuesday and pleaded not guilty to charges of improperly billing Perth Amboy for $6,000 in medical costs and receiving $25,000 in improvements to his home from a city vendor for free during his tenure as the city’s mayor.