Middlesex County

Middlesex Democrats Carry Election Night

MIDDLESEX COUNTY – Democrats carried the night on Election Day in Middlesex County. Freeholder Director David B Crabiel of Milltown led his party’s ticket to victory in the freeholder races. The Democrats easily defeated their GOP challengers. Millie Scott, a…

Walking to Help the Homeless

Walking to Help the Homeless—About 70 people walked the Middlesex County College campus Sunday, Oct. 19, as a fundraiser for MIPH (Making It Possible to end Homelessness), a grassroots Middlesex County organization. MIPH, which serves the homeless through three Middlesex…

Remembering Sayreville’s Past

by Diane Norek Harrison SAYREVILLE-Did anyone read the May-Oct. 2008 issue of Weird N.J.? In this issue is a story titled “Tales of Fort Grumpy.” Fort Grumpy is the name of the borough’s recycling center located on Bordentown Avenue. It’s…

Dems Sweep Middlesex Freeholder Races

MIDDLESEX COUNTY — Democrats David Crabiel and Millie Scott easily defeated their Republican challengers Lynda Woods Cleary and Daniel S. Kerwin for seats on the Middlesex County Board of Chosen Freeholders. Crabiel received 160,430 votes; Scott 156,145; Cleary 98,011; Kerwin…

Democrats Win In Carteret

CARTERET — Democrats Susan Naples and Randy Krum defeated independent candidates John Nartowicz and Kevin Urban for seats on the Borough Council. The Democrats received 4,730 and 4,720 votes respectively, while the independent challengeres received 1,529 and 1,478 votes. Democrat…

Cammarano, Manley Win In Metuchen

METUCHEN — Democrate Peter Cammarano and Republican Justin Manley won seats on Metuchen’s Borough Council. Cammarano was the top vote getter, with 3,869. Manley finished second with 3.424. Democrat Tim Dacey finished third with 3,336

Sayreville Splits Council Seats

SAYREVILLE — Republican Kenneth P. Kelly Sr. and Democrat Lisa Buchanan Eicher won council seats. Kelly received 7,625 votes and Eicher won 7,456. Democrat Jorge “George” Gonzalez came in third with 7,422 and Republican Ron Green finished fourth with 7,229.

Noble Wins South Amboy Race

SOUTH AMBOY — Democrat Mark Noble defeated Republican David Longenhagen 598-298 to win in South Amboy’s Second Ward. Democrats Russell Stillwagon and John O’Connell were unchallenged in the First and Third wards, respectively.