Trump dooms Republicans

Mounting unpopularity for President Donald Trump is expected to thin the herd among Republicans in Congress.

On average, 22 House members retire each cycle, but so far at least 26 Republican lawmakers have announced that they would not return to Washington after 2018.

New Jersey Republicans could see their congressional delegation depleted.

Rep. Frank LoBiondo, R-N.J., will retire from Congress at the end of his term.

The 71-year-old won his seat in 1994 and his retirement opens up potential swing district, where Trump won in 2016, but former President Barack Obama took the majority in 2012.

Rep. Chris Smith has been in Congress since 1980, when he was elected in a fluke that saw the previous congressman caught up in the FBI’s Abscam sting, and after 38 years he may just call it quits.

Rep. Tom MacArthur has attracted attention among Democrats who would like to defeat the sponsor of an Obamacare repeal measure that made it through the House of Representatives, but he may become a moving target by running for US Senate instead.

Two other New Jersey Republicans may be victims of a GOP backlash, as well funded contenders are lining up to challenge Rep. Leonard lance and Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen.

Texas Rep. Sam Johnson, Rep. Bob Goodlatte, R-Virginia, Rep. Dave Trott, R-Mich., Rep. Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, Rep. Lynn Jenkins, R-Kan., Rep. Kristi Noem, R-S.D., Rep. Dave Reichert, R-Wash., Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fla., Rep. Ted Poe, R-Texas, Ohio Rep. Pat Tiberi and Pennsylvania Rep. Charlie Dent will not seek re-election.

Sen. Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., Sen. Bob Corker, R-Tenn., Rep. Jimmy Duncan Jr., R-Tenn., Rep. Lamar Smith, a 70-year-old Republican serving Texas, and GOP Rep. Tim Murphy of Pennsylvania are also not seeking re-election.

Rep. Joe Barton, R-Texas, Rep. Ruben Kihuen, D-Nev., Rep. Trent Franks, R-Arizona, and Rep. Blake Farenthold, R-Texas, will not seek re-election amid accusations of sexual harassment, misconduct and inappropriate behavior

Jason Chaffetz of Utah resigned from Congress at the end of June 2017.

Alabama Senator Luther Strange, was a Republican appointee but lost a special primary election to Roy Moore, who lost to Democrat Doug Jones.

New Mexico Rep. Steve Pearce and Rep. Raul Labrador, R-Idaho, each opted to run for governor of his state.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email