Hillside Mayor-Elect Introduces Transition Team

HILLSIDE – Mayor-Elect Angela Garretson announced the honorary chairs who will advise her transition team as she prepares to take office in January.

The Transition Team Honorary Co-Chairs are Congressman Donald Payne Jr, and Senator Raymond Lesniak. The Committee Chair Councilwoman Patricia Perkins-Auguste will oversee the transition report in consultation with advisors Assemblyman Joe Cryan, Assemblywoman Annette Quijano, Mayor Chris Bollwage of Elizabeth, and Mayor Colleen Mahr of Fanwood, and Freeholder Mohamed Jalloh

“The people who have agreed to serve as honorary chairs on this transition team are leaders in their respective elected roles,” Garretson said. “We have put together a nonpartisan team of residents to serve as committee co-chairs and members who will partner with committee consultants, municipal staff and officials to look at the changes that need to be made for the township of Hillside.”

“I am very excited that we have the highest caliber of people working on this transition and know that some great ideas for Hillside will come from us working together,” she added.

The main purpose of the transition team will be to re-evaluate the structure of municipal government from top to bottom. The team will also assist in making recommendations to departments and committees under the mayor’s charge.

The Mayor-Elect has already convened a volunteer team of Hillside residents, issue experts, and elected officials from various level of government. The honorary chairs, advisors and consultants have who agreed to serve on the transition team will offer significant guidance as she prepares to introduce the first ever transition plan for the municipality.

“As a newly elected mayor, it is great to have residents, municipal staff, local organizations and businesses work together to understand our local context and how we can partner and work to address opportunities for the betterment of our municipality,” Garretson said. “Also, I wanted to have as many voices as possible involved in this transition, not only within Hillside’s borders, but from issue-experts from the county and beyond.”

Over 30 residents attended the initial meeting on Wednesday to join committees.

Dr. John H. Jackson, Jennifer Carillo-Perez, Jiles Shipp, Baye Adofo-Wilson, Former Senator Bernard Kenny, Henry Amoroso, Elnardo Webster Jr., Adam Cruz, Newark Deputy Mayor Dan Jennings and several others will act as consultants to the committees.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email