Menza To Face Garretson In Dec. 3 Runoff Election

VOTE-3HILLSIDE – Voters will head to the polls again on Dec. 3 for a runoff election to determine who wins the township’s mayoral and council races since no candidates received a majority in Tuesday’s contest.

Incumbent Mayor Joseph Menza, who finished second with 1,436 votes in Tuesday’s election, will face challenger Angela Garretson, who received 1,654 votes. The unofficial totals do not include provisional ballots. Challenger Jorge Batista finished third with 1,396 votes.

The top six council candidates: Sip T. Whitaker (1,341 votes), George Alston Jr. (1,322 votes), Frank Deo (1,304 votes), Lilisa J. Williams (1,303 votes), Marjorie E. Hargrave-Wright (1,294 votes) and Donald J. DeAugustine (1,284 votes) will face each other in the runoff election for three council-at-large seats. Willard Evans (1,237 votes), Seth Dombeck (1,179 votes) and Jerome Dunn (1,174 votes) missed the cut.

Hillside holds non-partisan elections for its mayor and council positions, and state law requires the winner to achieve a majority threshold to avoid a runoff election between the top contenders.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email