Photos From Benedictine Academy

ELIZABETH —  The end of the academic year brought recognition and honors to many students at Benedictine Academy in Elizabeth. Young women at the all-female Catholic college prep high school were inducted into the National Honor Society on June 13. Others celebrated the conclusion of the school year with an Awards ceremony on June 7. In addition, next year’s newly-elected Student Government leaders were introduced to the student body at a school assembly in June.


Several members of the Benedictine Academy Class of 2014 were inducted into the school’s National Honor Society chapter on the evening of June 13. A special ceremony was held at the Benedictine Sisters’ St. Walburga Monastery Church in Elizabeth. Pictured are NHS members (front starting at middle- l to r): Andrea Mendoza, Benedictine Academy Class of 2012, who was the guest speaker at the event; NHS Moderator and Math teacher, Karina Aliaga; Kai Alexander ’13; and Benedictine Academy Principal Kenneth Jennings; Rear, l-r: Alyssa Silva ’14; Heidi Isabel, ’13; Krizia Joyce Mendoza ’14; Eunice Waklatsi ’14; Vanessa Fragiacomo ’14; Ewa Kowalczyk ’14; Hazel Pena ’14; Michelle Colonia ’13; and Martha Devia ‘13. (Photo courtesy of Benedictine Academy)


Newly elected student government leaders were introduced to the student body of Benedictine Academy recently. Pictured are (l-r) Junior C lass Officers Karina Costa, President; Karol Pierre, Vice President; Cassidy Deegan, Secretary; Aleah Butler-Jones, Treasurer; Senior Class President Eunice Waklatsi; Senior Class Executive Board President Kiana Wilson-Carter; Senior Class Vice President Ramira Mayse; Senior Class Executive Board Vice President Osato Omokaro; Senior Class Secretary Jada Yarbough; Senior Class Executive Board Secretary Joyce Mendoza; Senior Class Treasurer Ewa Kowalczyk; Senior Class Executive Board Treasurer Janderie Celi; Sophomore Class Treasurer Ranisha Frejuste; Sophomore Class Secretary Nylah Whyte; Sophomore Class Vice President Shaylah Brown; and Senior Class President Andrea Lopez. Standing with the group is Student Government Moderator Jeff Martinelli.  (Photo courtesy of Benedictine Academy)


Academic awards abounded at the end-of-year awards ceremony at Benedictine Academy. Pictured (l-r) are Karen Thompson of Union and Destinee Garrity of Newark, sophomores who received recognition for academic honors. Thompson was recognized for First Honors in Geometry and World Culture and Second Honors in Biology and Spanish during the 3rd marking period. Garrity achieved first honors in English, World Culture and Physical Education/Health, and, second honors in Biology, Latin, Scripture and Composition.  (Photo courtesy of Benedictine Academy)


Ewa Kowalczyk of Elizabeth (left) and Busola Oladele of Irvington were recognized for their participation in special activities during their junior year at Benedictine Academy. Kowalczyk was awarded a certificate for participating inthe Young Science Achievers Program. The program provides grants to help further motivate students in the pursuit of careers and fields of study in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Kowalczyk’s project focused on science experiments involving the testing of blood levels. Oladele participated in Model UN, which is an academic simulation of the United Nations that aims to educate student participants about current events, topics in international relations, diplomacy and the United Nations agenda. Both young women were acknowledged during the annual end-of-year Awards Ceremony at Benedictine Academy in June.  (Photo courtesy of Benedictine Academy)


Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email