More Than 100 NJ Schools Will Benefit From Federal Fresh Fruit & Vegetable Program

TRENTON – Six Middlesex County schools and 15 in Union County are among 144 throughout the state that will participate in the federal Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program for the 2013-2014 school year, New Jersey Secretary of Agriculture Douglas H. Fisher announced today.

The United States Department of Agriculture has allocated $3,934,586 for New Jersey for next school year’s Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program, which provides fresh produce to students during the school day, along with nutrition education. The goal of the program is to expose children to healthy foods, increase their fruit and vegetable consumption and set them on the road to improved lifelong dietary habits.

“The Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program gets kids excited about eating fresh produce,” said Fisher. “Participating schools have seen positive changes in the student population because of the program. We hope they will take these lessons and the good food habits with them into adulthood.”

Starting in September, the selected schools located in 14 New Jersey counties with almost 76,000 students, will begin to offer fresh fruits and vegetables on a regular basis free to students each week.

Some of the criteria used in selecting the schools to participate included: Elementary schools with 50 percent or more of their students eligible for free or reduced price meals; schools that planned to purchase locally grown fruits and vegetables as much as possible; the program would be well-publicized and all students would have access to the produce offered; and plans to partner with outside organizations to enhance nutrition education.

The Middlesex County schools that will participate in the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program for the 2013-2014 school year are:

  • Chester Redshaw Elementary School, New Brunswick
  • Livingston School, New Brunswick
  • Lord Stirling School, New Brunswick
  • Paul Robeson Community School, New Brunswick
  • Roosevelt School, New Brunswick
  • Anthony V. Ceres School, Perth Amboy

The Union County schools that will participate in the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program for the 2013-2014 school year are:

  • George Washington School #1, Elizabeth
  • Winfield Scott School #2, Elizabeth
  • Nicholas La Corte School #3, Elizabeth
  • Benjamin Franklin School #13, Elizabeth
  • Donald Stewart ECC #51, Elizabeth
  • Dr. Albert Einstein Academy, Elizabeth
  • John Marshall School #20, Elizabeth
  • Juan Pablo Duarte School #28, Elizabeth
  • Lafayette School #6, Elizabeth
  • Charles Stillman Elementary School, Plainfield
  • Emerson Elementary School, Plainfield
  • Jefferson Elementary School, Plainfield
  • Washington Community School, Plainfield
  • Woodland Elementary School, Plainfield
  • Harrison Elementary School, Roselle

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email