Union County Democrats Announce Primary Slate

(Photo courtesy of the Regular Democratic Organization of Union County)

(Photo courtesy of the Regular Democratic Organization of Union County)

ROSELLE PARK — Following a meeting of the Regular Democratic Organization of Union County, chairman Charlotte DeFilippo announced the candidate slate that will carry the organization banner in the Primary Election this June.

“Once again, we are truly blessed with a great team of public servants in Union County,” said DeFilippo. “I am excited to formalize what we’ve been planning for weeks – giving Sen. Barbara Buono our complete and unquestionable support. Along with Sheriff Ralph Froehlich and Freeholder candidates Linda Carter, Bette Jane Kowalski, and newcomer Sergio Granados, we’re ready for the Primary Election and ultimately victory in November.”

Following the announcement that Freeholder Daniel Sullivan is retiring at the end of the year, the Democratic organization tapped Elizabeth resident and community activist Sergio Granados to run on the ticket this year. Incumbent Freeholder and current Board Chairman Linda Carter from Plainfield, and incumbent Freeholder Bette Jane Kowalski from Cranford round out the Democratic slate.

“It’s an incredible honor,” said Granados. “When my grandparents migrated to America from Portugal, they worked tirelessly to ensure a better future for their family. Similarly, my father migrated here from El Salvador and worked hard to ensure I have opportunities. Public service and investing in education have always been a top priority in my family. If I’m fortunate enough to be elected to the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders, I’ll keep those priorities front and center.”

Below is the complete list of candidates endorsed by the Regular Democratic Organization of Union County:

  • Barbara Buono for Governor
  • Raymond Lesniak for Senate (LD-20)
  • Joseph Cryan for Assembly (LD-20)
  • Annette Quijano for Assembly (LD-20)
  • Nicholas Scutari for Senate (LD-22)
  • Gerald Green for Assembly (LD-22)
  • Linda Stender for Assembly (LD-22)
  • Ralph Froehlich for Union County Sheriff
  • Linda Carter for Freeholder
  • Bette Jane Kowalski for Freeholder
  • Sergio Granados for Freeholder

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email