Nearly 400 NJ Districts & Charter Schools Split $38 Million Race To The Top Award

TRENTON – The state Department of Education today announced that 372 Local Education Agencies (LEAs) have signed up to take part in the state’s $38 million Race to the Top award. Half of that money, or approximately $19 million, will be split among participating districts based on each LEA’s relative share of funding under Title I. The other $19 million will be used by the state to advance the state’s education reform agenda. An “LEA” is any district or charter school in the state.

New Jersey was awarded approximately $38 million in December as part of the US Department of Education’s Race to the Top 3 (RTTT3) competition. As part of its RTTT3 application, New Jersey selected four objectives in line with the administration’s education reform agenda:

  1. Development of model curriculum and assessments for all core content subject areas to support the adoption of the Common Core State Standards
  2. Development and rollout of an online Instructional Improvement System (IIS) that will serve as a platform for teachers to access the model curriculum and other supports like formative assessments and instructional tools
  3. Implementation of the state’s new teacher evaluation system and the creation of a principal evaluation pilot program
  4. Expansion of high-quality school options by strengthening the Department’s charter authorizing practices

“We are glad to see that so many districts and charter schools have signed up to participate in the state’s reform agenda,” said Acting Commissioner Chris Cerf. “These funds can be used for a number of purposes that will support student learning such as training for teachers on the new teacher evaluation system and the implementation of the Common Core State Standards.”

In total, 344 participating LEAs signed up to split the $19 million allocation, accounting for 63 percent of the total number of LEAs eligible. An additional 28 involved LEAs also signed up to participate in the state’s reforms.

Local LEAs and their awards are printed below:

Middlesex County

  • Carteret Boro: $54,177
  • Dunellen Boro: $18,984
  • East Brunswick Twp: $25,657
  • Edison Twp: $90,111
  • Jamesburg Boro: $13,021
  • Metuchen Boro: $5,489
  • Middlesex Co Vocational: $29,839
  • Milltown Boro: $2,270
  • Monroe Twp: $6,613
  • North Brunswick Twp: $69,719
  • Old Bridge Twp: $67,341
  • Perth Amboy City: $271,374
  • Piscataway Twp: $44,567
  • Sayreville Boro: $48,579
  • South Brunswick Twp: $18,005
  • South Plainfield Boro: $24,864
  • South River Boro: $40,697
  • Spotswood Boro: $9,145
  • Woodbridge Twp: $125,051

Union County:

  • Clark Twp: $3,962
  • Cranford Twp: $6,399
  • Elizabeth City: $664,123
  • Hillside Twp: $50,309
  • Linden City: $94,104
  • Plainfield City: $206,401
  • Rahway City : $47,721
  • Roselle Boro: $48,747
  • Roselle Park Boro: $26,373
  • Scotch Plains-Fanwood Reg: $9,789
  • Springfield Twp: $3,673
  • Union County Teams Cs: $8,120
  • Union Twp: $66,344
  • Westfield Town: $13,116
  • Winfield Twp: $1,325


Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email