Ward Lines Could Change In 10 Union County Communities

UNION COUNTY – Just as New Jersey’s state Legislative Districts were redrawn as a result of population shifts revealed in the 2010 Census, ten Union County communities could see their local ward boundaries adjusted during a public meeting next month.

Under the state’s Municipal Ward Law, the boundaries will be determined by a Board of Ward Commissioners composed of the four members of the county board of elections (two Democrats and two Republicans), as well as the municipal clerk of the affected community who would act as a tie-breaker if needed.


Ward boundaries must reflect the “one person, one vote” principal, so they need to be roughly equal in size. If a community’s current wards have a significant population imbalance, the boundaries must be adjusted.

There will be a public meeting at the Union County Board of Elections, 271 North Broad Street, Elizabeth on Thursday, Sept. 1, to make any necessary ward line changes. Rahway’s meeting starts the day at 10 a.m., followed by Plainfield at 11 a.m., Roselle at 11:30 a.m., Roselle Park at 12:30 p.m., Elizabeth at 1 p.m., Linden at 2 p.m., Clark at 2:30 p.m., Hillside at 3 p.m., Summit at 3:30 p.m. and Westfield at 4 p.m.

Written proposals may be filed with Commission Secretary Dennis S. Kobitz at 271 North Broad Street, Elizabeth up until 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 16.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly

Leave a Reply