Rahway Sideliners Celebrate Rahway High School Senior Athletes

RAHWAY — On the evening of June 1st, parents, coaches and senior student-athletes gathered at the Rahway Senior Citizens Center for a celebration of the year’s athletic victories. The group was addressed by Thomas Lewis, Athletic Director and John Shutte, Assistant Athletic Director, as well as coaches for each sport.

All seniors participating in any sport were presented certificates and a number of individual awards were given:

  • William H. Roesch Memorial Award: Kaitlyn Burnejko, Malik Shell;
  • Babe Ruth Foundation Sportsmanship Award: Ashley Carpenter, Urayoan Garcia;
  • Tom O’Reilly Red and Black Award: Grace Woodrow;
  • Miriam Fernandez (3 Sport Award):Kaitlyn Burnejko, Grace Woodrow, Marcelle McIntosh;
  • Max Lilenfeld Memorial (3 Sport Award): Olumide Adewale, Jeremy Antivo, Luke Harper, William Harris, Lester Hooks, Cary Jones, Brian Pyrus, Al-Raji Winbush;
  • Ralph Steuer – Robert Smith 500 Mile Club Award: Grace Woodrow;
  • George H. Keller Memorial Award: Osa Igbinosun;
  • Harry C. Pray Memorial Award: Tobe Akeru;
  • George C. Syme Award: Joseph Majeski;
  • Sideliners Girls’ Soccer Award: Guan-Ju Tao;
  • James J. Coffey Memorial Trophy: Jeremy Antivo, Grace Woodrow;
  • Sarah McCoy Herzog Memorial Award: Paloma Ferreyra;
  • Sideliners Varsity “R” Award: Courtney Johnson; Earl H. Walter Plaque: Keith Bumpas;
  • William Hoodzow Basketball Award: Myron Mayes;
  • Helen E. Van Doren Memorial Award: Asyra Murchison;
  • Anna Reppen Memorial Award: Diego Chavez, Urayoan Garcia;
  • Robert W. Berger Memorial Award: Isaac Valentin;
  • Zolton Husth Memorial Award: Brian Pyrus;
  • John L. Atchley Memorial Plaque: Michael Vansco;
  • James R. Bona Memorial Award: Josh Thompson (Junior);
  • Rahway Lanes Award: Linsey Kate Armus;
  • Donald J. Forsythe Memorial Plaque: Cary Jones; Daphna Darisme;
  • Earl C. Hoagland Trophy: Joseph Romeo;
  • Cornell Cruikshank Trophy: Robert Dulieda;
  • Dennis P. Donovan Memorial Plaque: Will Harris, Al-Rajii Winbush;
  • W. Dickson Cunningham Plaque: Henry Flores;
  • Betty Rutledge Memorial Award: Ceilin Penia;
  • Sideliners Girl’s Track and Field Award: Sara Camacho;
  • Sideliners Girl’s Volleyball Award: Kimberly Bausch (Outstanding) Nichole Heffman (Most Improved).

Sideliners is one of New Jersey’s oldest sports booster organizations. It raises money by selling refreshments at Rahway High School football games and then arranges the annual spring sports banquet, providing awards to honor the graduating athletes of Rahway High School.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email