Party Crashers

ELIZABETH — A week after losing the party’s nomination for Assembly, Fourth Ward Councilman Carlos Cedeño was elected chairman of the city Democratic Committee.

The election represents a victory for the Democrats for Change, which has mounted more serious challenges to the county political establishment in the past two years than any time since the faction evolved after former Mayor Thomas G. Dunn was vanquished in 1992.


That victory may have little meaning in political reality because Cedeño will not become a trustee for the Regular Democratic Organization, which will assign the preferred ballot position to candidates running in next year’s primary in the same column as President Barack Obama and U.S. Sen. Bob Menendez.

In last week’s voting, Cedeño earned 6,715 votes, leading his incumbent opponents in Elizabeth and Hillside but coming up far behind in Roselle and Union Township as Asm. Joe Cryan racked up 8,161 votes and Asw. Annette Quijano earned 7,977.

On Monday, Cedeño bested Amilcar Colon, a police detective who is an ally of Mayor J. Christian Bollwage, by a vote of 70 to 65.

Re-elected as chair of the local Democratic Party were Cryan in Union Township and Union County Democratic Chair Charlotte DeFilippo in Hillside. Marcus Lawson was elected municipal Democratic chairman in Roselle.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email