Wardlaw-Hartridge Students Receive Recognition At Honors Assembly

EDISON – The Wardlaw-Hartridge’s Upper School held its annual Honors Assembly on May 27 in Laidlaw Gymnasium to recognize the students for their achievements and participation during the 2010-2011 school year.

One of the highlights of the day was the dedication of the yearbook to Dr. David Berry of Edison, English Department Chair. Dr. Berry received a framed picture of his dedication page and a standing ovation from the students.


Aneesa Sonawalla ’12 of Edison received the Dartmouth Alumni Club Book Award, which recognizes a junior who demonstrates strong character, has made a positive contribution to the school community and excelled both academically and in at least one non-academic area, and the RPI Medal for outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics and science.

The clubs were recognized by Dawn Francavilla, Director of Student Life. All members were asked to stand when Francavilla named their club.

Jane Brown and Gale Goldman recognized those who excelled in the fine and performing arts.

Patricia Malizia, Director of Athletics, asked anyone who participates in a sport to stand and be recognized for their participation. The Rams enjoyed great success in athletics in 2010-2011.

Service and leadership were a big part of the program. Sue Swenson, Director of College Counseling, cited the Edison Rotary Club Seniors of the Month: Patrick Liu, Kelsey Hart, Kayla Kluse, Adina Pearlman, Manan Patel, Monal Mehta, Roshni Mehta, Ben Stoddard, Sara Alkhalili and Angad Dhindsa. A dinner was held May 12 and Patrick Liu was chosen as Rotary Club Senior of the Year.

The Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership provides leadership development opportunities that empower individuals to achieve their highest potential. Two current sophomores have been chosen to attend a three-day seminar this summer at Monmouth University and will have the opportunity to attend HOBY’s World Leadership Conference. Congratulations to Brianna Gutierrez ’13 of Metuchen and Pranali Soni ’13 of Edison for being named Wardlaw-Hartridge’s Student Ambassadors.

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program is the United States’ largest youth recognition program based exclusively on volunteer community service. Shruti Nadkarni ’12 of Edison has qualified for the President’s Volunteer Service Award. This award recognizes Americans of all ages who have volunteered significant amounts of their time to serve their communities and their country.

Kelsey Hart ’11 of Edison received recognition for the Caring Award for her dedication, kind heart and genuine desire to help others succeed.

Academic honors included:

Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship – Saheela Ibraheem ’11 of Piscataway, Patrick Liu ’11 of Edison, Adina Pearlman ’11 of East Brunswick

Courier News Academic All-Star – Patrick Liu ’11 of Edison

N.J. Governor’s School – Ernest Afflu ’12 of Edison, who will be attending The Governor’s School of Engineering and Technology at Rutgers University.

Aneesa Sonawalla ’12 of Edison was accepted but will be attending another prestigious program, The Governor’s School in the Sciences at Drew University.

Advanced Placement Recognition – A total of 17 students, four of whom have not yet graduated from W-H, earned the designation of AP School Scholars this past year by College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program Exams.

AP Scholar – Granted to students who receive an average grade of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams: Jian Bland ’11 of Edison, Manan Patel ’11 of Edison.

AP Scholar with Distinction – Granted to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams: Saheela Ibraheem ’11 of Piscataway, Patrick Liu ’11 of Edison.

National Merit Recognition – juniors who have met the requirements to enter the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program based on their PSAT Selection Index scores earlier this year of 201 or above and have shown outstanding academic potential. These students will move on to the next round: Ernest Afflu ’12 of Edison, Abigail Rogers ’12 of Plainfield and Aneesa Sonawalla ’12 of Edison.

The National Merit Commended Students in the 2011 National Merit Program are being recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry. Our commended scholars this year are: Saheela Ibraheem ’11 of Piscataway, Peter Minnium ’11 of Scotch Plains and Adina Pearlman ’11 of East Brunswick.

National Achievement Scholarship conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation recognizes academic promise and distinguished performance with a $2,500 scholarship to the winners. W-H was fortunate enough to have a winner this year: Saheela Ibraheem ’11 of Piscataway.

DEDICATION … Dr. David Berry of Edison proudly displays the framed yearbook page he received as part of the dedication ceremony at the Upper School Honors Assembly. Photo by Rudy Brandl of Fanwood

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email