NJ Redistricting Commission Adopts Democrats’ Map

STATE – New Jersey’s legislative redistricting commission voted to adopt a map advanced by Democrats, with Prof. Alan Rosenthal casting the deciding vote over the weekend.

Though several incumbent state legislators could see their time in office come to an end, the map largely preserves the status quo.


In Union County, only two towns change districts. Hillside moves from the 29th District, which was centered in Essex County and dominated by Newark, to the 20th District, which also includes Elizabeth, Roselle and Union. Kenilworth shifts from the 20th District to the 21st District, joining the western Union County communities of Berkeley Heights, Cranford, Garwood, Mountainside, New Providence, Roselle Park, Springfield, Summit and Westfield.

In Middlesex County, Old Bridge was moved into the 12th Legislative District from the 13th District; South Brunswick moved from the 14th District to the 16th District and Spotswood went from the 18th District to the 14th District.

The state must re-draw the boundaries of its legislative districts every 10 years after the U.S. Census provides new population data to keep the number of people in each district approximately equal.

New Legislative District Map (PDF format)

New Legislative District Breakdown (XLSX format)

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email