Sayreville Bombers’ Championship Team Honored On Assembly Floor

TRENTON – The New Jersey General Assembly paused from their legislative deliberations last Thursday to honor the championship Sayreville High School football team on the floor of the Assembly chamber, presenting the team with a ceremonial resolution sponsored by Assemblyman John S. Wisniewski that commemorates their championship year.

“These young men played throughout the season with the determination, skill, sportsmanship and heart of true champions,” said Wisniweski (D-Sayreville).  “The talent and efforts of the 2010 Sayreville Bombers deserve to be recognized and rewarded.”


The 2010 season ended with Sayreville’s football team taking its second state championship.  The Bombers tied the record for most wins in a season – 11 – were ranked 7th in the state and 2nd in Middlesex County.  Team captain Syd Holt was named Defensive Player of the Year and received All County and All Area honors.  Team captain Daryl Stephenson was named Offensive Player of the Year by the Home News Tribune and was named to the All State 2nd Team.

(Photos courtesy of Assemblyman John Wisniewski’s office)

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email