Local Educator Wins Award

Dr. Carlo Parravano

RAHWAY– Dr. Carlo Parravano, Executive Director of the Merck Institute for Science Education (MISE), has been named Educator of the Year by the Research & Development Council of New Jersey, an organization dedicated to supporting the advancement of research and development in New Jersey.  Dr. Parravano received the award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the state’s culture of innovation and his leadership in improving science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.

“MISE is dedicated to bringing systemic change to science education.  We work with teachers, principals and district administrators in our partner districts to build capacity and help make science a priority,” said Dr. Parravano.  “I’m grateful to the Council for recognizing our work and highlighting the importance of high-quality science education for all students.”


“The Council was deeply impressed with Dr. Parravano’s contributions to K-12 science education both in New Jersey and nationally,” said Tom Degnan, Council Chairman and ExxonMobil Manager.  “From helping develop New Jersey’s Core Curriculum Content Standards in Science and working with the state’s science educators to collaborating with the President’s commissions on education, Dr. Parravano is a zealous advocate for STEM.”

MISE partners with seven public school districts in New Jersey and Pennsylvania through professional development programs that provide educators with research-based tools and strategies to achieve sustained improvement in the teaching and learning of science.  In September, the Newark Public Schools became the newest district to join the MISE private-public Partnership for Systemic Change. The Partnership will enable teachers, principals and district administrators in New Jersey’s largest school district to develop and sustain best practices in science education.

Over the course of his seventeen-year leadership of MISE, Dr. Parravano has guided all of the Institute’s initiatives from its signature Academy for Leadership in Science Instruction to the MISE Volunteer Program. A life-long educator and third generation chemist, Dr. Parravano was Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Division of Natural Sciences at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Purchase prior to joining MISE.  Under his stewardship, MISE has received National Science Foundation grants, numerous accolades including the Ron Brown Award for Corporate Leadership, and was cited for best practices by the National Research Council and National Governors Association.

The 2010 Research & Development Council of New Jersey awards will be presented on November 4, 2010 at the 31st Thomas Alva Edison Patent Awards Ceremony and Reception held at the Liberty Science Center. Awardees include Dr. George E. Smith, who shared in the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics. Dr. Smith will receive the Council’s Science and Technology Medal.  Former New Jersey Governor Tom Kean will receive the Chairman’s Award for his work attracting high-tech companies to the state.  Thirty-one inventors from eight companies and universities will be honored as 2010 Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award winners for their work on various patents in the telecommunications, information technology, environmental, industrial processes, pharmaceutical, and medical fields.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email