Storm Victims Facing May 11 Deadline To File Their Tax Returns

MOUNTAINSIDE  — Victims of the March storms and flooding in New Jersey may have qualified for tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service.

The President declared Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, and Union counties federal disaster areas qualifying for individual assistance.

As a result, the IRS postponed until May 11 certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside in the disaster area. This included the April 15 deadline for filing 2009 individual income tax returns, making income tax payments and making 2009 contributions to an individual retirement account (IRA).

Taxpayers can still file their tax returns electronically.  For details on IRS e-file or Free File, go to the IRS website at

Taxpayers that need additional time to file their tax returns should request an extension by submitting Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, which is available on the IRS website.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email