NJDOT Funds Road Resurfacing Projects

NJTODAY.NET's online business directory

UNION COUNTY—Twelve miles of county roadway will be resurfaced this year as part of a $5.6 million New Jersey Department of Transportation funded project.

Resurfacing is scheduled to begin in the May and will include county roads in Elizabeth, Roselle, Clark, Rahway, Springfield, Union Township, Scotch Plains and Plainfield.


This project, together with one previously approved and paid for with funds from the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 puts the total miles of roadway slated to be paved in 2010 at 36, which is triple the normal amount done each year.

The following roadways will be resurfaced as part of the NJDOT project:

  • Summit Avenue in Summit, from Springfield Avenue to Route 124.
  • South Springfield Avenue in Springfield, from Mountain Avenue to Meisel Avenue.
  • Mountain Avenue in Springfield, from Hillside Avenue to 660 feet North of Sheffield Street.
  • South Springfield Avenue in Springfield, from Lynn Drive to Meisel Avenue.
  • Mountain Avenue in Westfield, from Mount View Road to East Broad Street.
  • Green Brook Road in Plainfield, from Clinton Avenue to West End Avenue.
  • West Chestnut Street in Union Township, from Chestnut Street to US Route 22.
  • Morris Avenue in Union Township, from North Avenue (RT #439) to Cherry Street.
  • Terrill Road in Scotch Plains, from King Street to Raritan Road.
  • Brant Avenue in Clark, from GSP 135 Circle to Westfield Avenue.
  • Oak Ridge Road in Clark, from Lake Avenue to County Line.
  • Valley Road in Clark, from GSP 135 Circle to Walnut Avenue.
  • North Street in Elizabeth, from Lower Road to North Avenue (RT #439).
  • Orchard Street in Elizabeth, from Magie Avenue to Morris Avenue.
  • Warinanco Park Road in Roselle from St. Georges Avenue (US Route 27) to St. Georges Avenue (US Route 27).
  • West Milton Avenue in Rahway, from St. Georges Avenue (US Route 27) to Broad Street.
  • New Brunswick Avenue in Rahway, from St. Georges Avenue (US Route 35) to East Hazelwood Avenue.

Department of Engineering, Public Works and Facilities Director Joseph Graziano noted that the  projects listed above would begin following the completion of  the 2009 ARRA funded projects which are scheduled to start in April and cover roads in Plainfield, Summit, Springfield, Scotch Plains, Kenilworth, Union Township, Linden, Rahway, Roselle Park and Elizabeth.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email ads@njtoday.net for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET

Leave a Reply