Taxpayer Group Gives Most NJ Lawmakers An “F”

BOGOTA – Every Democrat in the Trenton statehouse earned an “F” on the Americans for Prosperity Final 2008-2009 Legislative Scorecard. The scorecard is an attempt to measure who is fiscally conservative and who is not, allowing voters to contrast legislators’ rhetoric with reality.

Americans for Prosperity currently is the only taxpayer organization in the state to rate legislators. The scorecard grades the performance of New Jersey’s 120 legislators based on their votes on critical legislation affecting taxpayers.


The following legislators earned the title “Heroes of the Taxpayer,” achieving the coveted A rating (90% or above):

• Assembly: Alison Littell McHose (R- 24), Gary Chiusano (R- 24), Michael Carroll (R- 25), Jay Webber (R- 26), Richard Merkt (R- 25), David Russo (R- 40)

• Senate: Michael Doherty (R- 23), Andrew Ciesla (R-10), Joseph Pennacchio (R-26)

While these Republican legislators earned poor grades:

• Senate: Minority Leader Tom Kean (R-21) earned a poor grade of D, while Senators Sean Kean (R-11) and Bill Baroni (R-14) received failing F grades.

• Assembly: Budget Committee Chairman Joe Malone (R-30) was the lowest-rated Assembly Republican, also earning an F grade.

Democratic legislators were judged to be enemies of the taxpayer, with every single one earning “F” grades for their voting records. Among them, were two “Taxpayer Zeros,” Cleopatra Tucker (D-28) and Joan Quigley (D-32), both of whom scored a flat-out zero.

The full scorecard [PDF] is available at the AFP-NJ website,

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email