Morgan Athletic Association’s 1979 Banquet

Remembering the Past by Diane Norek HarrisonBy Diane Norek Harrison

SAYREVILLE-This material was given to me for my column and is from the Morgan section of Sayreville: The Morgan Athletic Association held their 17th Annual Banquet on Oct. 28, 1979 with a family style dinner at Diamond Jim’s.

The emcee was Mr. W. McKeon and Guest was B. Valentine.

Teams and Managers: Midget League-Weber’s Garage, Bruce Pelletier; Al’s Auto Body, Thomas Huguenin; Magic Touch Construction, Thomas Lasko; Top Amusement, Joe Scanlon; Harrison Realty, Buddy Siebert; Morgan First Aid, Joseph Pelletieri; Matty’s Auto Parts, William Sullivan; and Morgan Lions, Alan Shymanski. 1st Place-Weber’s Garage and 2nd place Morgan First Aid.

Little League: Parkway Liquors, Bruce Pelletier; Morgan Lions, James Caracapra; Sun Valley Furniture, James Bonis; R.J.A., Dennis Kirchgessner; and RONDEAU, Jerry Short. 1st Place Morgan Lions and 2nd Place R.J.A.

Babe Ruth League: Roller Arena, Robert Veltre; Diamond Jim’s, William McGee, Fred’s Sunoco, Robert Anthony; Divers Cove, Richard Ryan; Morgan Fireman, William Lyons; Central Jersey, Robert Veltre and Morgan Lions- no manager. 1st Place Morgan Fireman and 2nd place Fred’s Sunoco.

Basketball League-1st Place Blazers.

Gidget League: Peter Pank Diner, Sue Kane; Amboy Coach, Beryl Buckler and Morgan Tonsorial Shop, Kathy Fazekas. 1st Place-Amboy Coach and 2nd Place Peter Pank Diner.

Junior Girls: South Amboy Trust Company, Barry Wilder; Carnary’s, Barbara Heimall; J & M Senior Citizens, Bob Waitt and Red Devils, Nancy Richel. 1st Place-J & M Senior Citizens and 2nd Place South Amboy Trust Company.

Senior Girls: Morgan Lions, Willam Richel, Mr. & Mrs. Decker, Tom Jones; Sun Valley Furniture, Ted Kiyak and Robert E. Lee Inn, Frank Bukow. 1st Place-Mr. & Mrs. Decker and 2nd Place Sun Valley Furniture.

Girls Fast Pitch Junior Division Teamsters Local 84 manager Jody Horsch.

The 1979 officers were: President, Thomas Pollando; Vice President, Joseph Jarock; Secretary, Jody; Horsch; Treasurer, Bruce Pelletier. Cive Presidents of Midget League, Jay Fuler; Little League, Thomas Huguenin; Babe Ruth, Robert Veltre; Gidget Girls, Barbara Heimall; Junior Girls, Barbara Heimall and Senior Girls, William Richel.

Also has President Patricia Prybylowski; Vice President, Peg Bonus; Secretary, Mary Ann Huguenin; Vice President, Barbara Bracht; Vice President, Patricia Janas and Vice President, Karen Veltre.

The 1990 officers were: President, Thomas Huguenin; Vice President, Joseph Jarock; Tresasurer, Bruce Pelletier; Vice Presidents of Midget League, Jay Fuller; Little League, Ed Maciorowski; Babe Ruth, Robert Veltre; Gidget and Junior Girls, Barbara Heimall and Senior Girls, WIlliam Richel.

Also has President, Peg Bonus; Vice President, Freida Jarock, Vice President, Patricia Haltlo; Vice President, Florence Lyons; Secretary, Karen Veltre and Treasurer, Theresa O’Neill.

Do you have similar past information and want to share it? Send it over! E-mail me at or send copies of your material to me c/o CMD Media, 1139 East Jersey St., Suite 503, Elizabeth NJ, 07201.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email