Remembering the Past: First National Bank Of Woodbridge

By Diane Norek Harrison

WOODBRIDGE—This is from my own research dated 1920: The First National Bank of Woodbridge was incorporated June 12, 1906, and commenced business August 11th of the same year, in the handsome building erected on the northwest corner of Main and Fulton St., with a capital stock of $25,000 and the following board of directors, William T. Ames, president; William L. Harned, cashier; C.W. Boynton, David A. Brown, CA. Campbell, Thomas F. Dunigan, H.R. Groves, B.W. Hoagland, Charles S. Farrell, M. Irving Demarest, R.M. Kellogg, Albert W. King, J.H Thayer Martin, Clarence M. Liddle, and F.N. Randall. The present officers and directors are: William T. Ames, president; Thomas F. Dunigan and David A. Brown, vice-presidents; WIlliam L. Harned, cashier; and W. Leon Harned, assistant cashier; the directors are: William T. Ames, Edwin A. Ames, Arthur Brown, D.A. Brown, S. Barron Brewter, C. A. Campbell, M.I. Demarest, Thomas F. Dunigan, B.W. Hoagland, W.L. Harned and J.H. Thayer Martin.

The bank has a Savings Department, 3 percent interest being paid; travelers’ checks, payable in all parts of the world, and safe deposit boxes are rented for $3 per year. Banking hours, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Friday evenings, 7 to 8 o’clock; Saturdays, 9 a.m. to noon.

If you have your own memories or past information for Carteret, Edison, Metuchen, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy or Woodbridge you can email me at send “copies” of your material to me at CMD Media P.O. Box 1061 Rahway, N.J. 07065.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email