Remembering the Past: Public Safety Service Past Information

by Diane Norek Harrison

SOUTH AMBOY-In honor of National Police Week, May 11-May 17, I found the following tidbits: In Jan. of 1920, The South Amboy Police Department petitioned the counsel requesting that 8 hour shifts be put in force instead of 12 hours shifts which were being worked at this time. The petition was signed by Thomas Gleason, Patrick Ryan, David Quinlan, Louis Bloodgood, John J. McCormack and Anton Maliszewski. These men were serving as members of the police department at this time.

In Jan. of 1942, South Amboy Police Justice. John E. Mullane, reported to the City Council activities that had been covered by the police department for the year 1941. There were 85 motor vehicle violations and 192 criminal violations. The total amount collected in fines were $874.00 with $22.00 forward to the Motor Vehicle Commission, $480.00 to the City Collector and $372.00 to the County Collector. It was ordained that John E. Mullane be and hereby is appointed Police Justice to hold this office for the term of three years from the first day of 1942, and until his successor has been in like manner appointed and qualified.

South Amboy First Aid & Safety Squad, Inc. is celebrating their 75th Anniversary this year. The Squad was officially dedicated on May 30, 1933. Much has been written on the Squad throughout the years by others and myself for their 70th Anniversary. I do not like to repeat past information in my columns that I had previously printed. I found this little tidbit: In 1941, James Brennan, reported 233 calls for the year. There was 134 transports and 4,732 man hours expended.

In 1942, Progressive Fire Department named R.R. Dexheimer as Chief Driver. Other drivers were: H. Hartman, F. Hartman, Ray Dexheimer, Casper Poetsch, W. Letts, J. Roberts and L. Foley. The Fire Wardens named by Chief Charles Stockton in 1942 were: Mechanicsville- Austin Stolte, Fred Lukie, Louis Kurtz, Thomas Dooling and John Ciol. Progressive- Joseph Letts, Leo Farley, John Roberts, R.R Dexheimer, and Charles Leash. Protection-Patrick Connors, Martin Keays, Edward Moran and Guy Bachman. Enterprise-Leroy Falk, Louis Nemeth, Frank Covell, James McCarthy and James McNeary. Special wardens named were: John McDonnell, Joseph Phillips and M.C. Bloodgood. Nothing was listed for Independence.

A little South Amboy item: If anyone was watching Antiques Roadshow on March 29, they may have heard South Amboy, New Jersey mentioned. A woman had a piece of New Geneva stoneware from PA. One of the Keno twins told the woman it was quite rare to have, since most of the pottery in the 19th century came from South Amboy New Jersey.

If any reader has past information for any of the towns below on the First Aid Squads, fire departments or police departments and would like to submit it to be used in my column please send it to me

If you have your own memories or past information for Carteret, Edison, Metuchen, Perth Amboy, Sayreville, South Amboy or Woodbridge you can email me at or send “copies” of your material to me at CMD Media P.O. Box. 1061 Rahway, N.J. 07065.

Connect with NJTODAY.NET

Join NJTODAY.NET's free Email List to receive occasional updates delivered right to your email address!
Email for advertising information Send stuff to NJTODAY.NET Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter Download this week's issue of NJTODAY.NET
Print Friendly, PDF & Email